Tomato, Spinach and Tortellini Soup

Every once in a while I have one of those super domesticated days where I feel like I can go head-to-head with Martha Stewart. Last Tuesday was one of those days.  It was during the cold snap when I wasn’t leaving the house. I was stocked up on groceries and felt frenetically motivated to cook, clean and de-clutter.  I washed the floor, cleaned the bathroom, made the squash and lentil curry, and roasted and pureed my own gourmet baby food. And I did this all while wearing my baby on my back! She was happy and well fed, the house smelled amazing and I felt domestically invincible.

Bring it, Martha! Bring it!

And in the midst of accomplishing all of the tasks listed above, I threw together this tomato, spinach and tortellini soup.  This soup has been a long time household favourite and is my go-to recipe when I want something quick, fresh and filling for lunch. I often use home made chicken stock but when I’m out, I’ll use a carton or two of store bought stock. In the summer time when fresh herbs grow aplenty in my little balcony garden, I’ll use fresh rosemary, thyme, orgegano and basil. In the winter, I use the dried versions.  I believe the original recipe came from Rachael Ray, but I’ve made so many changes over the years that it’s probably morphed into a very different soup.

Tomato, Spinach and Tortellini Soup

  • 2 glugs of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion diced
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • herbs to taste
  • 1 tsp of dried chilli peppers
  • can of diced tomatoes
  • 1-2 cartons of chicken stock
  • 1 package of spinach and cheese tortellini
  • a few handfuls of fresh spinach
  • parmesan cheese as a garnish

In a large pan saute the onion and garlic until the onion is soft. Add the herbs and chilli peppers and saute for two minutes. Add the tomatoes and stock and bring to a boil.  Add the tortellini and cook until the pasta floats about three minutes. Just before serving, stir in the spinach. Ladle into bowls and top with parmesan cheese.  Serve with crusty bread for mopping up the left over broth.

2 Comments on “Tomato, Spinach and Tortellini Soup”

  1. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    Jerry loved this soup especially when you made it with home canned tomatoes from Noonies ample supply of tomatoes. The last time you served it to him was the day of Christy Kennedy’s wedding. Another delightful dish served up by you.

  2. Rosemarie Storm says:

    I just read this recipe and am definitely going to give this one a try; it sounds scrumptious. I love it when you try these different recipes.

    Rosemarie


Leave a Reply

