Baby Shower Bonanza! with Caramelized Onion and Brie Tart

2011 was a baby boom! Between myself, my step-sister and my cousins, four babies were joyfully welcomed to the family this year with lots of noshing, frivolity and overall good times.  By the time the last sweet babe arrived and was ready to be celebrated, we had feasting and festing down to a science!

And last Sunday did not disappoint! In between the games, the chatting and the “ooohing and aaahing” over the gorgeous little Ruby, we indulged in quite the spread.

On the menu:

  • Warm Artichoke and Jalepeno Dip
  • Veggie Platter
  • Assorted squares
  • Noonie’s Butter Tarts
  • Caramelized Onion and Brie Tart
  • Angel Food Cake with Mixed Berry Coulis and Whipped Cream

My contribution was the Caramelized Onion and Brie Tart. The original recipe came from this Simply Recipes blog post. In my version, I used only the brie cheese and I added halved cherry tomatoes for colour. I had difficulty locating fresh herbs, so I had to use dried tarragon in the caramelized onions. Also, in making the onions I used a combination of the Simply Recipes method and a recipe from the Rebar cookbook. I added dried chili peppers and chicken stock but completely forgot the balsamic vinegar. The onions simmered for 90 minutes until they were reduced to a thick consistency.

The tart was a hit and there wasn’t a crumb left behind!

5 Comments on “Baby Shower Bonanza! with Caramelized Onion and Brie Tart”

  1. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    The tart was absolutely delicious! There is something comforting about braised onion. The golden colour and sweetness of the onion is to die for! Good job Lindsay!

  2. Catherine says:

    A wonderful baby shower indeed! And I’m so thankful you hosted such a great one for Ruby and I. After all you are the queen of all things ‘shower’! Thank you so much for a perfect day!

  3. Amy says:

    Oh Lindsay, your blog is so much fun to read! I can almost hear you saying each word because your personality and sense of humor come through so clearly in your writing…you’ve always had such a talent with words. And you’re an amazing, creative, spontaneous cook too…who knew? Love your new year’s resolutions by the way. That one about keeping things clean and organized though? I say give it a good go this year and if it still doesn’t pan out (I use the word “if” loosely), add “accept myself for who I am” to the list for 2013 and be done with it! Love you Linds, can’t wait to read your next post.

    • Lindsay says:

      Thanks Amy for the great comment! Love the suggestion for next years goal “accept myself for who I am” in 2013! Haha It’s a work in progress….Glad you’re enjoying the blog!

  4. […] year, I had two parties in one day: a bridal shower in the morning for which I made my Caramelized Onion and Brie Tart and then a Super Bowl Party at Andy and Amy’s for which I made a Buffalo Chicken Dip. The […]


Leave a Reply

