Turkey Noodle Soup

In an attempt to cure my cold, I whipped up a batch of turkey soup from the Christmas turkey carcass. Going home with the leftover turkey makes Christmas dinner last that much longer.  Having it in soup form just makes it that much more awesome.

I love making soup stock.  I love throwing in all the vegetables together with the carcass and a few spices and then waiting for it to marry and become soup magic.

I diced onion, celery, carrot and garlic. I sauteed them in a little olive oil, added the turkey carcass, peppercorns and a bay leaf. I then filled up my big soup pot with water until the carcass was just covered. When the water started to boil, I turned the heat down to a simmer and left it on the stove for three hours.

During that time, we bundled up ourselves and our sweet girl and took her for a ride in her new sled.

She screamed the entire time we were outside. She did not want to be in her snowsuit, she did not want to wear the penguin hat and she did not want to be in the sled! But Todd and I enjoyed ourselves for the brief period we were outside.  So that counts for something.

And when we got home, our apartment smelled amazing (well Todd said it smelled good. I still couldn’t smell anything. Boo)

When the stock was done, I strained it and added a new batch of carrots, onion and celery, some cooked macaroni and turkey.

It was delicious!

But then we forgot the pot on the stove over night.

2 Comments on “Turkey Noodle Soup”

  1. husband says:

    The soup was delicious. Good article

  2. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    This soup looks amazing! You did a fantastic job.


Leave a Reply

