White Bean and Cucumber Salad

I quickly realized that my neglect in all things culinary had gone on way too long, when Todd announced that he was happy eating a vegetable tray for supper. A vegetable tray! Geesh! And I hadn’t even cut it up myself. It was store boughten and was supposed to be for light snacking, not main course.

So in an attempt to better take care of my husband, I dug out the old slow cooker and created another delightful, slow cooker chicken dish. (Yes, again with the slow cooker. But I love it. I really do. It makes my laziness seem somewhat less lazy and taste really, really good.) But I’m not going to feature it this time.  Mostly because I didn’t have half the ingredients, having never made it to the store.. And thus, wasn’t completed impressed with the finished product.

However, to accompany the mediocre chicken dish, I threw together this wonderful little bean salad. It’s light and it’s fresh. The flavours are mild allowing for the lemon and herbs to really stand out. It  reminds me of summer, when I can just run out to my little balcony garden and pick a couple handfuls of fresh herbs. I think the original recipe came out of the Oprah Magazine and called for shrimp and dill (which I omit because of the husband’s deadly shellfish allergy).  I have experimented with different herbs and vegetables, but the winning combination is fresh parsley and mint.

White Bean and Cucumber Salad

  • 1 Can of white beans (I used white kidney beans), rinsed and drained in a colander
  • Half a cucumber, peeled, quartered and roughly chopped
  • 1/4 of a red onion, finely minced
  • 1/2 cup of fresh parsley and fresh mint, roughly chopped
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil (or two healthy glug, glugs of olive oil)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together and serve!

And if you have any leftovers, add a spoonful or two of greek yogurt and some canned tuna. Mix together and spoon into a pita pocket for lunch.

One Comment on “White Bean and Cucumber Salad”

  1. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    The salad looks great. I’m looking forward to you coming home and cooking here. Adding a little red pepper to the salad and you could have quite the festive looking salad to take to a Christmas party!


Leave a Reply

