Classic Beef Stew

I’m craving comfort food these days.  I find myself gravitating towards dishes that have rich flavours and hearty textures, providing warmth to both my stomach and my heart.  It’s definitely fall and I can feel winter slowly creeping in. The sky is grey and overcast, the air is crisp and the wind is sharp.  It’s days like these where I just want to be wrapped up in a hug all day long. (sigh)

And nothing warms me up like a bowl of stew.

Stew is an ultimate comfort food. Simmering all day in the crock pot, filling my house with delicious aromas.  I like waiting in anticipation to see the transformation of carrots, potatoes and beef turn into tender morsels and a thick flavourful gravy; a perfect accompaniment to a warm biscuit.

The other day I made a very simple classic beef stew. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with different broths, herbs and vegetables in my stew like wine, tarragon and fennel (of course). But that particular day I wanted a very minimalistic dish. I dredged stew beef in flour, salt and pepper and browned it in on the stove in canola oil.  I added the beef to my crock pot with potatoes, carrots, diced onions, and celery.  I added a cup of water, two tbsp of beef oxo and a bay leaf, and let it simmer on low for 6 hours.  When it was done, the vegetables were tender, the beef cooked to perfection and the flavours were divine.

Simple, classic, delicious.

What’s your go-to comfort food?

Leave a Reply

