Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine

Do you remember the 1980’s cartoon, the Care Bears? I loved the Care Bears. I mean I LOVED them. When I was five I had all things Care Bears, like books and pyjama’s (but oddly enough, I never did own an actual Care Bear doll.  But that old wound is another story for another day.) Do you remember the Care Bear stare? At the end of every episode, the Care Bears would band together, hold hands, and save the day by focussing all their belly goodness on destroying the bad guys with love and sunshine and rainbows.

That is what I wanted to eat the other night. Something sweet, colourful and flavourful. If the Care Bear stare was going to be in a dish, it would taste like this Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine.  Seriously.  This dish screamed with flavour from the cinnamon, turmeric, cumin, and chili powder but the tomato, chickpea’s and apricots made it hearty and comforting.

The original recipe, which you can get here, instructed it to be cooked in a slow cooker. But I didn’t get home from the grocery store in time, so I improvised by cooking it on the stovetop instead. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts because I like the more meatier flavour of the thigh. I  browned them first in a little olive oil and then set them aside while preparing the other ingredients.

I followed the rest of the instructions pretty much as written. I actually got out the measuring spoons and not just for the baby to play with, but to actually measure out the ingredients (must have been the influence of cooking in my mother’s kitchen). I let it simmer on the stove for the time it takes to feed, bathe and change the baby, as well as play with my super cute nephew. It was about 1.5 hours in total.

We served the dish with rice and garnished it with cilantro.

Delicious!

4 Comments on “Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine”

  1. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    Will there be a picture to follow this blog? I remember you cooking it and the smells filling our house but can’t remember what it looked like. At any rate I am sure we will need comfort food again soon and you will whip it up on a cold winters day.

  2. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    my mistake! There is a picture. Delightful!

  3. Jocelyn says:

    Mmmm, this looked so good that I decided to make it tonight with a couple slight modifications. It’s currently simmering away in the slow cooker, and smells amazing….will report back later with how it tastes!


Leave a Reply

