Sauerkraut Soup, Part 2: The Recipe

I received this email from Catherine the morning that the post was published. Due to the outpouring of requests for the recipe, I decided to share it with you. (Okay, so maybe three requests isn’t necessarily an outpouring, but my grandma Noonie said “Carlie wants that recipe so you should give it to her.” I never say no to my Noonie.)

From Catherine:

“When I checked my email at 5:30 am (trying to keep myself calm because for the third time in two weeks I was positive the baby was making its move!) and saw your soup post it warmed me right up. I’m glad a little sauerkraut therapy could help you feel better! I have a huge interest in learning the traditional recipes from both sides of my family (all of which seem to call for potatoes, maybe that’s why we’re all so tall?) and sauerkraut soup is one of my favorites. There is a ‘recipe’ for it in our family cookbook, but to be honest I think the measurements are guesses. The most wonderful things that come out of the kitchen are made by granny and have this much of this and a hand full of that.. So here is sauerkraut soup:

*1 ham bone (or 1 pkg bacon, cube and brown in the soup pot first)
*Water (to cover the bone)
*1 large onion
*2-3Garlic cloves
*S & P
*1 28oz jar sauerkraut
*4 potatoes diced

for dumplings:
*3 eggs
*flour

Simmer the first 5 ingredients in a large soup pot for 2-3 hours, then add the sauerkraut and simmer for another hour.(You can also add half the sauerkraut now and half with the potatoes. The longer it simmers the more mild it tastes, so if you love the sourness adding some later will help keep that kick) Add the potatoes and simmer while making dumplings.

Make a well out of flour on the counter big enough to hold the eggs. With a fork, incorperate the flour into the eggs to form a stiff dough.Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and add 1/2 tsp sized globs of dough one at a time. Cook for 5-10 minutes. The dumplings will float when they’re done. Drain, rinse and add to the soup.

Continue simmering the soup until potatoes are done, remove the hame bone and return any meat to the pot.

This is an important recipe to have in your cookbook! Mine is written on the back of some directions my dad had written down for a tow call, much like most of my best recipes 🙂 ”

Well said, Catherine!

One Comment on “Sauerkraut Soup, Part 2: The Recipe”

  1. Carlie says:

    Thanks Linds!! 🙂 just what I need to get over this cold!


Leave a Reply

