Sauerkraut Soup

When I was growing up, it was a fact that there were two things that cured all ails. According to my mother and aunt, all bad days, illnesses and broken hearts could be remedied by taking two Tylenol and going to bed.  In addition to that, a steaming bowl of  sauerkraut soup would cure the rest.

Until I was about 19, I seriously thought that sauerkraut soup cured the common cold.

(Much to my husband’s disapproval, I still think that Tylenol makes everything else better).

As this is a food blog and not a pharmaceuticals blog, I will expand on the soup. Recently my cousin Catherine, gorgeous and 9 months pregnant, lovingly crafted up a pot of sauerkraut soup to bring comfort on a cold day. To be honest, I’ve never personally made this soup and am not sure what all exactly goes into the making of this magical brew. I do know you need a ham bone. And a jar of sauerkraut. And lots of garlic. The home-made dumplings have always been my favourite part; thick and chewy, balancing out the tart flavour of the sauerkraut.

When I eat a bowl of this soup, I always close my eyes with the first spoonful and breathe in the steam from the rich broth. Whether it be a cold, fever or broken heart, I always feel a little better.

Thank you, Catherine, for making me feel better, one bowl at a time.

*Author’s note: My brother Jordan helped edit this post. He does not like sauerkraut soup.

6 Comments on “Sauerkraut Soup”

  1. Megan says:

    Who knew a post about sauerkraut soup could bring a tear to my eye. I have always believed that certain foods truly can help you heal, either physically or emotionally. Whether it be a plate of nachos (my personal favourite), a jar of Nutella, or a warm bowl of soup. And it’s true what they say about the Tylenol…

  2. Kayla Kroening says:

    Where’s mine?? Looks delicious!

  3. Jessica says:

    I forgot all about sauerkraut soup! I need to get this recipe from you or your mom – I remember how delicious it was.

  4. Jocelyn says:

    The eagerly awaited Jordan guest edit post! Looks yummy, I’ve never had sauerkraut soup before.


Leave a Reply

