Fennel and Sausage Pasta

I am no longer intimidated by fennel!

Fennel used to intimidate me. It was one of those “exotic” vegetables that only the Food Network superstars Chef Michael Smith and Mario Batali cooked with.  Fennel looked good on the television but was so far from entering my every day repertoire.  I would pass the fennel in the grocery store, staring at it longingly, wanting to cook with it but at a loss of what I would do with it.

Well those days are over!

I’ve cooked with it several times in the past couple of months and love the subtle licorice flavour it adds to dishes. The other night, I was short on time and craving something hearty. I threw together this sausage and fennel pasta dish which was inspired by a Rachael Ray recipe.  I substituted the pernod for red wine, the cream for tomatoes and the penne for spegghetini. So mine was pretty much a completely different dish.

I browned hot italian sausage and then sauteed fennel, red onion, and garlic. To that I generously poured a cup or so of red wine and let it reduce before adding a can of diced tomatoes.  It simmered on the stove until Todd got home from work and took the baby from me, about 20 minutes or so. I then I added it all to spegghetini, topping it with parsley and fennel fronds. We served it with grated mozzerella and some box o’wine.

3 Comments on “Fennel and Sausage Pasta”

  1. todd says:

    Fennel rules

  2. Jocelyn says:

    Love fennel, food blogs and boxed wine! Try fennel with roast veggies or on homemade pizza.

    -Jocelyn

  3. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    This dish is an invitation for supper! I could bring a rustic, grainy bread with a bowl of whipped butter. A nice cheesecake tart topped with Fresh fruits and whipping cream sprinkled with godiva chocolate for dessert. Sipping a hot coffee would be lovely following.


Leave a Reply

