Barley Lentil Soup

When my friend Jana offered to come over for a visit and bring us homemade vegan soup, I said “Yes, please!”. Not only were we getting a visit with a good friend, but we were also getting fed. Win, win!

Let me tell you that Jana’s soup is EVERYTHING that is RIGHT in this world.

My photography skills are a work in progress and alas, I don’t have a picture that represents this soup in its finest form.

So I will describe it for you:

The soup is thick and hearty, almost like a stew. It’s full of all kinds of wonderful things like barley, lentils, carrots, onion, and celery, seasoned with bay leaves, a squeeze of lemon and dash of Bragg’s.

This soup tasted so good, that I found myself closing my eyes, rudely ignoring my guest, as I savoured every bite.

Picture yourself on a dreary Sunday afternoon, cuddled up on the couch with a soft blanket, wearing your comfiest sweatpants and sweater, reading a good book and drinking a cup of tea.  And then someone comes and gives you a hug.

That’s what this soup tastes like: comfort in a bowl.

Thanks to Jana for the great soup and the wonderful visit.

One Comment on “Barley Lentil Soup”

  1. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    I think you could add chorizo to this soup if you wanted. Yummy!


Leave a Reply

