Coconut Curry Soup

Let me start by saying that this soup was awesome.  It was spoonful by spoonful of spicy tangy awesomeness. It could have and probably should have been a simmering bowl of hot mess, but it wasn’t.

The inspiration for this soup came from a need to use up some left over coconut milk and diced tomatoes from a previous beef curry that I had made.  I used a recipe as a guideline but I’m not going to mention the title, because as it turned out I only had 4 of the suggested ingredients and no patience to follow the cooking instructions, so I just did want I wanted.

I sauteed minced ginger and garlic in a little sesame oil until fragrant and soft.  I then added a carton of chicken stock, the coconut milk (about half a can), the tomatoes (about a cup), 2 tbs of red curry paste, 4 healthy glugs of soya sauce and the juice of half a lime.  I let it simmer together in the time that it takes to nurse and change a five month old baby and sing four rounds of “I’m a little tea pot”.

I was very low on vegetables and noodles.  Luckily, three years ago my  mother bought me a pad thai kit that I had forgotten about! I pilfered the rice noodles from that and added it to my soup.  In the mean time, I had a little bit of yellow pepper and red onion, which I thinly sliced and added it to my bowl with a few halved cherry tomatoes.

When the noodles were soft, about five minutes, I ladled the soup over the vegetables.

Amazing. Every single mouthful was so good.

The creaminess of the coconut milk was a good balance against the spicy curry paste. The lime perhaps stole the show as it was strong but not too sour, the perfect flavour to compete with the curry.  And the crunch from the raw veggies was pleasant amongst the soft noodles.

Sadly, in a rush to get out of the house I left the soup on the stove (the stove turned off mind you!) and when I came home later that evening it needed to be thrown out. I was very sad indeed.

 

One Comment on “Coconut Curry Soup”

  1. Tami Scott Gartner says:

    This soup sounds like something I would like to try. I have developed a taste for curry dishes over the past couple of years. Too bad you weren’t able to save the left overs. I could give you tips on how to do that!


Leave a Reply

