Spaghetti Pie

My mom will be horrified by this, but: I don’t measure. I just don’t. Aside from the first time I use a recipe, I rarely measure. My mom would say “I didn’t raise her like this.” (She says that about a lot of things, actually.) I also don’t really have a strong sense of time when it comes to cooking.  Todd always asks, “How long does this pasta have to cook for?” and is annoyed by my response of “Until it’s done”.

Last night’s Spaghetti Pie was my own creation and inspired by my need to use up left over spaghetti in a creative way. When I started thinking about this blog post and how I was going to write up the “recipe”, I knew my mom would be annoyed by my lack of measurements.  So the “2 cups” of  spaghetti is really a guess and put in there for her benefit 🙂 The pie turned out to be delicious (despite my forgetting to grease the pie plate. Ooops).  The marscapone cheese made it creamy and the crust had a nice consistency. I baked it for 20 minutes at 400 degrees F, but next time I would bake it at 350 for a half an hour so that the crust had a little longer to set.

Fennel and Zucchini Spaghetti Pie

2 cups of cooked spaghetti

1/2 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs

1 egg beaten

salt and pepper to taste

half a fennel bulb thinly sliced

half a medium zucchini thinly sliced

1 red pepper diced

half a yellow onion diced

4 cloves of garlic diced

8 cherry tomatoes cut in half

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes

2 tablespoons marscapone cheese

1 cup of mozzarella cheese

Crust  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a pie plate.  In a medium size bowl, beat the egg and the spaghetti and bread crumbs.  Spread the spaghetti mixture evenly into the pie plate.

Filling Heat the olive oil in a large frying pan and add your vegetables and spices.  Saute until zucchini and fennel is soft about ten minutes. Stir in the marscapone cheese and simmer one minute.  Add vegetable mixture and layer over spaghetti crust.  Top with mozzarella.

Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes or until the cheese is melted and golden brown.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

